Michael B. Jordan Honors ‘Central Park 5’ With ACLU Courage Award

Posted On : June 11, 2019
Michael B. Jordan presents ACLU award to Central Park 5.
Photo via Twitter.

It’s difficult to watch Ava DuVernay’s When They See Us without getting hella emotional. It’s the story regarding an immense injustice in America, as currently seen today.

In 1989, it involved five young teens between the ages of 13 and 16:

  • Yusef Salaam
  • Antron McCray
  • Kevin Richardson
  • Raymond Santana
  • and Korey Wise

They were wrongfully accused and convicted of raping a white woman who was jogging in Central Park. At the time, the media labeled the Black teens the “Central Park 5.” And the name has haunted them ever since.

It’s dangerous in America when you’re living in a Black body,” Michael B. Jordan mentions prior to┬ápresenting the men their honored award, according to Fox News. “The whole time that these men were incarcerated, they never changed their story. They insisted of their innocence even as they did their time.

Award Accepted With Tears In Their Eyes>>>